Withington Wheelers Club Champions (The Best All-Rounder Competition)

Phil Jones was the first Club Champion in 1933 only using the times of 25, 50 and 100 miles, his consequent average 0f 20.165 mph seemingly fast. In 1934 the Club adopted the National BAR times for its All-Rounder Competition of "50" "100" and 12 hours.

In 1934 Phil again took the title with a reduced average of 18.58 mph, he made it a hat-trick in 1935 with a slightly faster average of 19.54mph. In 1936 Harry Lloyd took the title with 19.54 mph and in 1937 he again took the honours with a much improved average of 20.11 mph and for this performance he received a certificate from "CYCLING" recording the feat.

In 1938, Alan Grant, a newcomer to the Club won the "All-Rounder" competition with an average speed of 19.80 mph and in 1939 Tom Frith was eventually declared the Club Champion with an average of 19.73mph.

Due to the outbreak of World War II in September 1939 the Committee had originally made the following decision regarding the 1939 Club Championship. The October 1939 Club Journal makes the following report;

"At the last meeting of the Committee the question of the club's Best All Rounder competition was discussed at great length and it was finally decided that in view of the fact that the season had been cut off abruptly the contest be declared void. Certificates of Merit are to be awarded as some form of consolation to the riders who have completed the three distances. Here is the last position;

	<u>50</u>	<u>100</u>	<u> 12 Hour</u>	<u>Average</u>
Tom Frith	2.19.49	5.10.40	2181/2	19.73mph
PA Jones	2.23.29	5.07.50	217	19.49mph
H Whitbread	2.23.57	5.09.03	216	19.42mph
JE Forbes	2.23.51	5.36.48	207	18.94mph"

Tom Frith was subsequently awarded the 1939 Club Championship.

Tom Frith was of course one of the four Withington Wheelers who were killed in the war. After the war, Tom's family presented the club with the Tom Frith Shield which is presented to the winning team in the Open Hill Climb each year.

There was however one more Club Champion before the competition was completely abandoned because of the war. Stan Heeley won the BAR in 1940, this is how Jim Forbes described the sequence of events;

"at this point it would be churlish not to mention Stan Heeley's victory in the 1940 event. This event as usual, was organised by Tommy Barlow, the Headquarters was Bates' in Goostrey and Irene had arranged a sit -down feed covered, and occupying the forecourt of their premises. The riders came and were suitably nourished and sent on their way. (the distance at this point about 130 miles). Our Stan arrived and was duly 'administered' to by the 'helpers' in the persons of Adrian Mayson and Jim Forbes. Only when the next rider was sent on his way was it noticed that he was pushed off in the opposite direction to our Stan. We consulted the 'start-sheet and to our horror realised we had indeed sent Stan off in the wrong direction. We grabbed the motor-bike on which we were assisting and set off after Stan catching up with him near Goostrey station. We came up alongside him, tapped him on the shoulder and gave him the bad news... the look on his face will forever haunt me as he turned round and proceeded to catch up the lost miles. He won that years Club BAR and shortly afterwards departed these shores for Canada. To say "he deserved" the Championship goes without saying and though his mph was not recorded his effort will surely go down as one of the finest performed".

Stan's mph was subsequently added to the records. His average was 18.55mph.

Club Champions

1933	P A Jones	20.165 mph
1934	P A Jones	18.58 mph
1935	P A Jones	19.11 mph
1936	H E Lloyd	19.54 mph
1937	H E Lloyd	20.11 mph
1938	A Grant	19.80 mph
1939	T Frith	19.73 mph
1940	F S Heeley	18.55 mph
1941 – 1946	no competition	1
1947	H E Lloyd	19.08 mph
1948	L Tulip	19.94 mph
1949	L Tulip	20.71 mph
1950	L Tulip	20.87 mph
1951	L Tulip	20.67 mph
1952	S Foster	20.94 mph
1953	H E Lloyd	20.78 mph
1954	H E Lloyd	21.10 mph
1955	H E Jackson	19.21 mph
1956 – 1962	no winner	19.21 IIIpii
1963	D R W Shutt	18.93 mph
1964	D R W Shutt	19.55 mph
1965		21.276 mph
1966	R Langman no winner	21.270 IIIpii
1967	no winner	10.741
1968	R E Y Slater	18.74 mph
1969 – 1978	no winner	20.202 1
1979	D A Slater	20.383 mph
1980	D A Slater	21.769 mph
1981	D A Slater	23.017 mph
1982	D A Slater	22.663 mph
1983 – 1989	no winner	
1990	D A Slater	20.71 mph
1991	D A Slater	21.53 mph
1992	A J Baxter	? no speed shown on trophy
1993	no winner	
1994	R Forbes	19.174 mph
1995	no winner	
1996	R J Meadows	20.47 mph
1997	P Pearce	24.01 mph
1998 - 2001	no winner	
2002	H Newhall	19.24 mph
2003	R Meadows	20.70 mph
2004	H Newhall	19.50 mph
2005	H Newhall	20.00 mph
2006	H Newhall	19.60 mph
2007	S Newbery	22.10 mph
2008 - 2016	no winner	<u> </u>
2017	C Yianni	18.96mph
		-